Des questions? téléphoner nous au +49 (0)761 76 999 422
Solutions provided by Coreva Scientific, meta-analysis, risk-sharing

Partage des risques

Objectif: partager les coûts et les avantages à essayer un nouveau produit de soins de santé entre le fabricant et l’utilisateur

Utilisation: l’utilisateur, par exemple Le payeur ou l’hôpital, ne paye le produit que s’il fournit un avantage prédéfini

Aide: ouvrir de nouveaux marchés et augmenter la percée sur le marché

Peu importe le côté bénéfique, de nouveaux produits doivent toujours gagner de l’argent. Cela peut donner lieu à des retards aussi bien au niveau des patients que des systèmes de santé avant de réaliser les avantages positifs du nouveau produit et adopter de nouvelles pratiques de soins de santé. L’une des raisons de ce retard est l’incertitude quant aux augmentations potentielles des coûts ou à la perte de rendement. Pour remédier à cela, des accords de partage des risques ont été développés. Ce sont des modèles de paiement ou de remboursement relativement nouveaux et novateurs qui répartissent le risque  entre les deux partenaires clés: les payeurs et les fabricants. Dans le cadre d’un accord de partage des risques, le fabricant et le payeur acceptent de lier le remboursement à l’efficacité ou au bénéfice des produits. Le côté attractif de ces accords de «rémunération liée au rendement» est compréhensible, car le payeur ne rembourse au fabricant que les résultats bénéfiques obtenus en matière de santé, plutôt que l’approvisionnement en produits pouvant être efficaces ou non.

En général, un accord de partage des risques intègre une période d’évaluation planifiée, au cours de laquelle la performance du produit est suivie. Cela comprend l’utilisation d’un ensemble précis de résultats pour les patients et d’une population bien définie. Le niveau de remboursement est ensuite lié au nombre de résultats positifs obtenus. Dans certains cas, il se peut que le fabricant offre un rabais échelonné si les résultats promis ne sont pas atteints.

De toute évidence, un accord de partage des risques concerne le fractionnement acceptable des risques. Les fabricants doivent donc calculer ce qu’ils peuvent offrir au payeur afin d’accéder au marché sans prendre trop de risques. Coreva Scientific est là pour vous aider à définir des accords de partage des risques et à construire des modèles permettant de quantifier l’équilibre des risques entre les fabricants et les payeurs.

Lecture recommandée: Performance-based risk-sharing arrangements—good practices for design, implementation, and evaluation: ISPOR Good Practices (Task Force Report). See also the performance-based risk-sharing arrangements slides and video presentation by Dr. Lou Garrison.

budget-impact

For any project enquiries phone +49 (0)761 76 999 422
Solutions provided by Coreva Scientific, meta-analysis, risk-sharing

Risk-sharing

Aim: To share the costs and benefits of trying a new healthcare product between the manufacturer and the user

Application: The user, e.g. the payer or hospital, only pays for the product if it provides a pre-defined benefit

Helps: To open up new markets and increase market penetration

No matter how beneficial, new products always need to gain sales momentum. This can result in delays in both patients and healthcare systems realizing the positive benefits of adopting new healthcare practices. One reason for this delay, is the uncertainty over potential cost increases or loss of efficiencies. To overcome this, risk sharing agreements have been developed. They are a relatively new and innovative payment or reimbursement model that spreads the risk and opportunity between the two key stakeholders: payers and manufacturers. Under a risk-sharing agreement, the manufacturer and payer agree to link reimbursement to the products effectiveness or benefit. The appeal of such “pay-for-performance” agreements is understandable, as the payer only reimburses the manufacturer for the beneficial health outcomes achieved, rather than for provision of products that may or may not be effective and/or used.

In general, a risk-sharing agreement incorporates a planned assessment period, during which the performance of product is tracked. This includes use of a defined set of patient outcomes and a defined patient population. The level of reimbursement is then linked to the number of positive outcomes achieved. In some cases, it may be that the manufacture offers a tiered rebate on its product if the outcomes pledged are not met.

Clearly, a risk-sharing agreement is about the acceptable splitting of risk. Manufacturers thus need to calculate how much they can offer a payer in order to access the payers’ market without taking on too much risk. Coreva Scientific are here to help with the scoping of risk-sharing agreements and to build models to quantify the balance in risk between manufacturers and payers.

Further Reading: Performance-based risk-sharing arrangements—good practices for design, implementation, and evaluation: ISPOR Good Practices (Task Force Report). See also the performance-based risk-sharing arrangements slides and video presentation by Dr. Lou Garrison.

risk sharing